Witch

I can still recall the tingling sensation that washed over me as I stepped out of the door, making my way to work this morning. The sudden rush of wind and the biting cold hit my face unexpectedly. Thankfully, I had my sweater on; I shudder to think how it would have felt without it. Glancing at my wristwatch, I realized I was running late once again. Despite my best efforts, I always seemed to end up behind schedule. Ever since my boss initiated a new rule that mandated every employee to be at work before she arrived, regardless of location or excuses, I decided to make an extra effort to be punctual.

To be honest, my boss and I don’t get along well. She perceives me as strong-willed, and I’m convinced she’s a witch, but who am I to judge?

Despite the cold, the morning was beautiful. The atmosphere had a certain moodiness, and the skies looked more captivating than ever. I took a momentary break from my walk to absorb all the beauty the universe had to offer, until my peaceful moment was shattered by a reckless driver. He zoomed past me, barely avoiding the pedestrian walk and causing me to lose my balance. Thankfully, I escaped unharmed. It’s a lamentable truth — we’re all so hurried, so focused on reaching our destinations, that we forget to live in the present and appreciate each moment. We’re always racing in the fast lane. It didn’t take me long to snap out of my trance, a skill I had mastered. A voice in my head reminded me that my boss would dismiss my thoughts or excuses without a second thought, and just like that, I was jolted back to reality. I resumed my hurried walk until I found a taxi and headed straight to work.

Yes, I arrived late, but luckily, I made it in before my boss did. I had enough time to settle in, and all I could think about was how I would greet her with a triumphant smile, once again proving her wrong. Within minutes of getting my tasks in order, my boss entered the room.

“Good morning, Ms. Fati,” I said, my smile slightly more pronounced than I had intended.

“Bella, I see you’re punctual today as well. I’m almost impressed,” she replied with a stern expression, instantly wiping the smile off my face.

See what I mean? Witch!


Posted

in

, ,

by

Tags:

Comments

Leave a comment